North Carolina Community Foundation grants $56,00 to Recovery Coalition

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Mary Skinner, fourth from left, is joined Tuesday morning by other members of the local foundation in presenting a check to Beth Bucksot and Joy Carawan Baker of the Disaster Recovery Coalition.

BAYBORO – The board of advisors of the Pamlico County Community Foundation recently awarded a $56,250 grant from the North Carolina Community Foundation Disaster Relief Fund to support the Pamlico County Disaster Recovery Coalition.

The funds assist on-going efforts and fulfill unmet needs from Hurricane Florence.

“This grant is critical to the long-term recovery of Pamlico County from Hurricane Florence,” said Mary Skinner, the local advisory board president. “The North Carolina Community Foundation Disaster Relief Fund is a pivotal resource to our local community thanks to the generosity of many donors who gave to help eastern North Carolina.”


Founded in 2002, the Pamlico County Community Foundation (an affiliate of its parent organization, the North Carolina Community Foundation) is led by a local volunteer advisory board. In addition to Skinner, board members include: Julia Mobley (vice president), Heather Brewer (secretary), Cynthia Lee Mayo (treasurer), Pat Prescott (immediate past president), Sally Belangia, James Berry, Timothy Buck, Ann Holton, Flora Moorman, Samuel Myers, Marsha Paplham and Sherman Smith.

The hard-working group builds community assets through the creation of permanent endowments, makes grants and leverages leadership – all for the benefit of Pamlico County.