Cook cites accomplishments of legislature as new session opens

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

State Sen. Bill Cook, center, with wife Holly to his right, joined constituents last week for the opening of the 2015 Session of the North Carolina General Assembly. From left are: Ken Macmillan, Kathy MacMillan, Holly Cook, Sen. Bill Cook, Joe Tauber, Lori London, and Justin Tillett.

RALEIGH – State Sen. Bill Cook (R-District 1) and other members of the North Carolina Senate returned to Raleigh last week to begin their 2015-2016 legislative session. Senator Phil Berger (R-District 26) was re-elected by his colleagues to serve a third term as President Pro Tempore, the chamber’s leader. The Senate also re-elected Senator Louis Pate (R- District 7) as Deputy President Pro Tempore, Senator Harry Brown (R-District 6) as Majority Leader and Senator Jerry Tillman (R-District 29) as Majority Whip. 

“I am honored to serve in the N.C. Senate and look forward to doing what is best for North Carolina,” said Cook. “Just a few years ago, North Carolina had the highest taxes in the southeastern United States. We had a $2.5 billion dollar budget deficit and the unemployment rate was over 10 percent. The tax reform that we passed last legislative session has helped to make North Carolina competitive again. We’re now attracting new jobs instead of losing them to our neighboring states. In addition, we balanced the state budget and kept its growth under control.”

Cook received an appointment as Co-Chairman of Agriculture/Environment/Natural Resources and Co-Chairman of Appropriations on Natural and Economic Resources. Cook will also serve as a member of the following committees: Commerce, Education/Higher Education, Finance, Judiciary II and Program Evaluation.


 “Bill’s leadership will be instrumental in shaping policy to strengthen our state,” Berger said. “I applaud his willingness to serve the people of North Carolina in this capacity.”

Cook is entering his second term in the N.C. Senate and third term in the N.C. General Assembly. Previously, he served one term in the N.C. House of Representatives. North Carolina Senate District 1 consists of: Beaufort, Camden, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank and Perquimans Counties.

x Shield Logo
This Site Is Protected By
The Shield →